Best AI voice recorders Pocket devices and phone apps, compared on what they cost over three years

Plaud, Pocket, Omi and phone apps compared: device price, free transcription, the subscription after it, and what each AI recorder costs over three years.

Prices checked 17 sourcesNo affiliate links

  • 11 compared

    On price, limits and platforms, plus 4 features side by side, from each maker's own pages.

  • Three-year costs

    From $7 to $849 for one person; 5 can be used free, with limits.

  • No affiliate links

    Nobody paid to be here, and we earn nothing if you sign up.

All 11, side by side

PickFrom3 yearsNeeds a deviceSubscription for full AI useFree transcriptionWorks offline / on device
1Plaud Note / Note Pro / NotePindevice$159 + $8.33/mo yearly$459YesOptionalPartlyPartly
2Pocketdevice$129 + $19.99/mo yearly$849YesPartlyYesPartly
3Soundcore Workdevice$159 + $8.33/mo yearly$459YesOptionalPartlyPartly
4Omidevice$179 + optional $22.42/mo yearly$179YesOptionalYesPartly
5Comulytic Note Prodevice$158.99 + $10/mo yearly$519YesPartlyYesPartly
6Apple Notes (built into iPhone)appFreeFreeNoNoYesPartly
7Google Recorder (Pixel)appFreeFreeNoNoYesPartly
8Otter.aiapp$8.33/mo yearlyor a free plan$300NoPartlyPartlyNo
9Nottaapp$8.17/mo yearlyor a free plan$294OptionalYesPartlyPartly
10Just Press Recordapp$6.99 once$7NoNoYesPartly
11AudioPenapp$8.25/mo yearlyor a free plan$297NoYesPartlyNo

Prices per person, from each maker's own pricing page unless the entry says otherwise. “3 years” is the device plus the cheapest paid plan that does the job. Costs, sorted.

What's the best AI voice recorder?

If you own a recent iPhone or a Pixel, start with the recorder already on it: transcripts are free. Buy a device only if you record meetings or calls daily and want one button. Plaud is the safe pick; Comulytic and Pocket have no minute cap on transcription; Just Press Record is a one-off $6.99.

Best device
Plaud Note / Note Pro / NotePin: four form factors, 300 free minutes a month, and the most mature app.
No minute cap
Comulytic Note Pro: unlimited transcripts and basic summaries with no subscription.
Free on iPhone
Apple Notes (built into iPhone): records, transcribes and, on iPhone 15 Pro or newer, summarises.
Free on Android
Google Recorder (Pixel): free recording, transcripts and search on every Pixel.
Pay once
Just Press Record: $6.99 once on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch, transcripts included.
Open source
Omi: an open-source pendant you can inspect, or run locally.

11 picks

The picks, one by one

In the order we'd look at them for most people. Each with what it costs, who it suits, the one thing it does best, and its catch. Checked Oct 13, 2026.

  1. 01

    Plaud Note / Note Pro / NotePin

    device · by Plaud

    Best for: People who want a dedicated recorder for meetings and calls, with a choice of card or wearable

    Stands out: Four device shapes on one account, and the free Starter plan includes summaries, not only transcripts.

    The catch: 300 free minutes runs out after about five hours a month; Pro is $17.99 billed monthly.

    • Needs a deviceYesCard or wearable pin, from $159
    • Subscription for full AI useOptionalFree Starter covers 300 min; Pro $99.99/yr for 1,200 min
    • Free transcriptionPartly300 minutes a month
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyRecords without a phone; transcription runs in Plaud's cloud
    • Without a subscriptionStarter plan: 300 transcription minutes a month, summaries and Ask Plaud included
    • NotePin, the cheapest Plaud (Note Pro $189)$159
    • Pro plan$8.33 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$459
    • Runs onOwn device, iPhone, Android, Web

    Price from plaud.ai. Sources: plaud.ai, plaud.ai, apps.apple.com.

  2. 02

    Pocket

    device · by Open Vision Engineering

    Best for: iPhone users who want a recorder stuck to the back of the phone and no minute cap

    Stands out: The free plan has no transcription minute cap, where Plaud and Soundcore stop at 300 a month.

    The catch: Free summaries disappear after 30 days, and Pro costs $239.88 a year, more than most rivals.

    • Needs a deviceYesMagnetic phone-back recorder, $129
    • Subscription for full AI usePartlyFree summaries expire after 30 days; Pro $239.88/yr
    • Free transcriptionYesUnlimited, at standard accuracy
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyRecords offline to 64GB; summaries need the app and cloud
    • Without a subscriptionUnlimited standard-accuracy transcription; summaries kept 30 days; Ask Pocket 3 chats a day
    • Pocket recorder (MagSafe mount, 64GB)$129
    • Pro plan$19.99 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$849
    • Runs onOwn device, iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, Web

    Price from heypocket.com. Sources: heypocket.com, heypocket.com.

  3. 03

    Soundcore Work

    device · by Anker

    Best for: iPhone owners who want a tiny clip-on recorder from a big accessory brand

    Stands out: Ships with six months of Pro at no charge and supports Apple Find My if you lose it.

    The catch: After the trial you're back to 300 minutes a month unless you pay $15.99 monthly or $99.99 a year.

    • Needs a deviceYesCoin-sized clip-on recorder, $159
    • Subscription for full AI useOptional300 free min; Pro $99.99/yr for 1,200 min
    • Free transcriptionPartly300 minutes a month
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyOne-press recording on the device; transcription in the cloud
    • Without a subscription300 transcription minutes a month; 6-month Pro trial in the box
    • Soundcore Work recorder with charging case$159
    • Pro plan$8.33 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$459
    • Runs onOwn device, iPhone, Android, Web

    Price from soundcore.com. Sources: soundcore.com, soundcore.com.

  4. 04

    Omi

    device · by Based Hardware · open source

    Best for: Tinkerers who want an open-source wearable they can inspect or run locally

    Stands out: The only device here with open-source app and firmware, and unlimited free transcription on the phone.

    The catch: The paid plan is sold only by the year at $269, and the pendant is built for all-day capture more than meetings.

    • Needs a deviceYesPendant, $129 after a $50 checkout discount
    • Subscription for full AI useOptionalUnlimited plan $269/yr, sold yearly only
    • Free transcriptionYesUnlimited on-phone, plus 300 cloud min a month
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyFree tier transcribes on your phone; cloud minutes capped
    • Without a subscriptionUnlimited on-phone transcription, 300 cloud minutes a month
    • Omi AI pendant$179
    • Unlimited plan$22.42 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$179
    • Runs onOwn device, iPhone, Android, Mac, Web

    Price from omi.me. Sources: omi.me, github.com.

  5. 05

    Comulytic Note Pro

    device · by Comulytic

    Best for: Buyers who want a card-sized recorder with no minute cap and no required subscription

    Stands out: Unlimited free transcripts and basic summaries on a card recorder, where Plaud's free plan stops at 300 minutes.

    The catch: In-depth analysis and translation are rationed on the free plan, and the brand is newer and less proven than Plaud.

    • Needs a deviceYesCard recorder, $109.64 on sale ($158.99 list)
    • Subscription for full AI usePartlyDeep analysis past 3 a month needs Premium, $10/mo yearly
    • Free transcriptionYesUnlimited transcripts and basic summaries
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyStores recordings on 64GB; transcription location not stated
    • Without a subscriptionUnlimited transcripts and basic summaries; in-depth analysis 3 times a month
    • Comulytic Note Pro (card recorder, 64GB)$158.99
    • Premium plan$10 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$519
    • Runs onOwn device, iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, Web

    Price from store.comu.com. Sources: store.comu.com.

  6. 06

    Apple Notes (built into iPhone)

    app · by Apple

    Best for: iPhone owners who want transcripts and summaries without buying anything

    Stands out: Free live transcripts in Notes, plus recorded phone and FaceTime calls that land as transcribed notes.

    The catch: Summaries need iPhone 15 Pro or newer, and only ten languages transcribe.

    • Needs a deviceNoBuilt into iPhone 12 or later
    • Subscription for full AI useNoSummaries free with Apple Intelligence, iPhone 15 Pro or newer
    • Free transcriptionYesNo cap; ten languages
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyRecords offline; Apple's guide doesn't say where transcription runs
    • Free planFully free; transcripts need iPhone 12 or later
    • Three yearsFree
    • Runs oniPhone, iPad, Mac (built in)

    Price from support.apple.com. Sources: support.apple.com.

  7. 07

    Google Recorder (Pixel)

    app · by Google

    Best for: Pixel owners who want free recording, transcripts and summaries with no extra app

    Stands out: Speaker labels and real-time transcripts at no cost on Pixel 6 and later.

    The catch: Pixel phones only; summaries need a Pixel 8 and work only on recordings of 5 minutes to an hour.

    • Needs a deviceNoBuilt into Pixel phones
    • Subscription for full AI useNoSummaries free on Pixel 8 and later
    • Free transcriptionYesNo cap on real-time transcription
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyLive transcripts on the phone; summaries run in Google's cloud
    • Free planFully free; Pixel phones only
    • Three yearsFree
    • Runs onPixel phones (built in)

    Price from support.google.com. Sources: support.google.com.

  8. 08

    Otter.ai

    app

    Best for: Recording talks and meetings on the phone you already carry, no gadget

    Stands out: One account covers in-person recordings on the phone and Zoom, Meet or Teams calls.

    The catch: Even Pro caps each recording at 90 minutes; monthly billing is $16.99.

    • Needs a deviceNoPhone app, also joins video calls
    • Subscription for full AI usePartlyFree plan has summaries but caps length; Pro $8.33/mo yearly
    • Free transcriptionPartly300 min a month, 30 min each
    • Works offline / on deviceNoTranscription is cloud-based
    • Free plan300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per recording
    • Pro plan$8.33 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$300
    • Runs oniPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, Web

    Price from otter.ai. Sources: otter.ai.

  9. 09

    Notta

    app

    Best for: App-first recording, with an optional stick-on card that also captures phone calls

    Stands out: The same account works as a phone app or with its own $149 card recorder, so you can start without hardware.

    The catch: Free plan stops at 3 minutes per recording, so it's a trial more than a free tier.

    • Needs a deviceOptionalNotta Memo card, $149, also records phone calls
    • Subscription for full AI useYesFree plan stops at 3 min per recording
    • Free transcriptionPartly120 min a month, 3 min each
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyPricing page lists on-device transcription; plan not stated
    • Free plan120 minutes a month, 3 minutes per recording, 10 AI summaries
    • Pro plan$8.17 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$294
    • Runs oniPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, Web, own device (optional)

    Price from notta.ai. Sources: notta.ai.

  10. 10

    Just Press Record

    app · by Open Planet Software

    Best for: Apple users who want a one-tap recorder with transcripts and never another bill

    Stands out: A single $6.99 purchase with no recording time limit, including a standalone Apple Watch recorder.

    The catch: No AI summaries or action items, just a searchable transcript.

    • Needs a deviceNoApp; can record from Apple Watch
    • Subscription for full AI useNoOne-time $6.99; it transcribes but has no AI summaries
    • Free transcriptionYesUnlimited recording and transcription after purchase
    • Works offline / on devicePartlyStores on device or iCloud; transcription location not stated
    • One-off$6.99: The app on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch (universal purchase), with transcription
    • Three years$7
    • Runs oniPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch

    Price from App Store listing (the developer's site only links to the App Store). Sources: apps.apple.com, openplanetsoftware.com.

  11. 11

    AudioPen

    app

    Best for: Turning rambling spoken thoughts into a clean written note or draft

    Stands out: Rewrites what you said into tidy prose instead of handing back a raw transcript.

    The catch: Even Prime caps recordings at 15 minutes, so it can't handle meetings or lectures.

    • Needs a deviceNoWeb and phone app
    • Subscription for full AI useYesPrime $99/yr for 15-minute notes and unlimited rewrites
    • Free transcriptionPartly3 minutes per recording
    • Works offline / on deviceNoWeb service
    • Free planRecordings up to 3 minutes; limited voice typing sessions
    • Prime (1 year) plan$8.25 a month, billed yearly
    • Three years$297
    • Runs onWeb, iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, Windows, Chrome

    Price from audiopen.ai. Sources: audiopen.ai.

Three years, one person

What each one costs over three years

The device, plus the cheapest paid plan that does the job, for 36 months. Optional subscriptions aren't counted, and many have a free plan with limits: see each entry. Catbird is shown at its planned price.

Add up the ones you pay for: subscription calculator.

Lately

What changed in this category

The facts behind a few of the picks, each with its source.

  • Limitless stopped selling its Pendant on December 5, 2025 after Meta acquired the company; existing owners get the Unlimited plan free and support through 2026, and service ended in the EU, UK and several other countries.

    Source: limitless.ai
  • Amazon agreed to acquire Bee, maker of the $49.99 Pioneer wristband recorder, in July 2025; as of today Bee's site says the Pioneer is sold out, works with iOS only and ships only to the US.

    Source: techcrunch.com
  • Plaud now sells four recorders (Note, Note Pro, NotePin, NotePin S) and lists a fifth, Plaud One, as pre-order with no price yet.

    Source: plaud.ai
  • Anker entered the category with Soundcore Work, a $159 clip-on recorder that comes with a six-month Pro trial and the same 300-minute free tier as Plaud.

    Source: soundcore.com

Method

How we picked

  • What it costs one person over three years: the device plus the cheapest plan that keeps transcription working.
  • How much transcription is free, and what the subscription unlocks on top.
  • Whether recording and transcription work offline or on the device.
  • Whether you need to buy hardware at all, or the phone you carry does the job.

We compare what each maker publishes: plans, limits, platforms, privacy terms and documented features, from their own pages, dated. We haven't used every product here for months, and we don't pretend to. We earn nothing from these links.

The order is our judgement of fit for most people, not a score. How we research these pages. Seen a price change? Tell us.

Not a pick: on our waitlist

Catbird, an AI voice recorder for $99 once

You already carry a recorder. Catbird turns your phone or laptop into one: one tap to record, then a transcript and a summary. No device, no subscription. It isn't built yet, so it isn't ranked above. We build the dupes people sign up for first; Plaud Pro costs $300 over three years.

Questions

Best AI voice recorders: FAQ

What is the best AI recorder?

It depends on whether you want a gadget. If you already have an iPhone 12+ or a Pixel, the built-in Notes or Recorder apps transcribe for free; for a dedicated recorder, Plaud ($159 and up, 300 free minutes a month) is the main choice, and Comulytic Note Pro and Pocket give unlimited free transcripts.

How much does a Plaud AI recorder cost?

The devices cost $159 (Note, NotePin), $179 (NotePin S) or $189 (Note Pro). Each includes the free Starter plan with 300 transcription minutes a month; Pro is $17.99 a month or $99.99 a year for 1,200 minutes, and Unlimited is $29.99 a month or $239.99 a year.

How much does a pocket AI recorder subscription cost?

Yearly plans run from $99.99 (Plaud Pro, Soundcore Work Pro) and $120 (Comulytic Premium) to $239.88 (Pocket Pro) and $269 (Omi Unlimited). All five devices also work on a free tier, though Plaud and Soundcore cap it at 300 minutes a month.

What is the best AI recorder without a subscription?

Comulytic Note Pro and Pocket give unlimited transcripts on their free plans, and Omi transcribes on your phone without a cap. With no device at all, Apple Notes and Google Recorder are free, and Just Press Record is a one-time $6.99 on Apple devices but has no AI summaries.

AI note taker app vs device: which should I get?

A phone app costs nothing upfront and is enough if you can keep your phone out and unlocked; a device ($129 to $189 here) records with one press and keeps going without your phone, then syncs later. The subscriptions cost about the same either way, roughly $8 to $20 a month for heavy use.

Is there a free AI recorder app for iPhone?

Yes: the Notes app on iPhone 12 and later records and transcribes for free, and adds summaries on iPhone 15 Pro and newer with Apple Intelligence. Otter's free plan also works on iPhone with 300 minutes a month, capped at 30 minutes per recording.

What AI recorder works for lectures?

Lectures need long recordings, so check per-recording caps: Notta's free plan stops at 3 minutes, Otter's at 30 (90 on Pro), and AudioPen at 15 even when paid. Apple Notes, Just Press Record and the dedicated devices have no per-recording cap listed, though Plaud's and Soundcore's free 300 minutes covers only about five one-hour lectures a month.

Can I use an AI recorder on my phone instead of buying one?

Yes. Otter, Notta and AudioPen run on iPhone and Android, and iPhone and Pixel owners already have free recording with transcripts built in. A device mainly helps when you can't leave your phone recording, or want to record phone calls hands-free.